Skip to main content

CaMMS Research & Publications Committee: Advanced Cataloging Resources

To promote awareness of the current status of research in cataloging and classification.

General Reference Resource

Cataloger’s Desktop 
Provides up-to-date electronic access to over 300 cataloging and metadata resources, including guidelines from the Library of Congress, Program for Cooperative Cataloging, and OCLC; RDA and AACR2 (requires separate RDA Toolkit subscription); Classification Web and WebDewey (both require separate subscriptions); and many specialized resources by contributing libraries and library organizations. Contains hypertext links between resources, multiple search approaches, and customization options. Annual subscription models range from single user to discounted rates for increasing numbers of concurrent users.

Available online from the Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress.

 

Classification

Library of Congress Classification (LCC)
Forty-one separate schedules, in different editions, for classes A–Z. Developed and maintained by Library of Congress, Policy and Standards Division. LCC is distributed by the Library's Cataloging Distribution Service in two forms.

Available via Classification Web, an online product that includes not only LCC but also the text of Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). A full set of LCC records in MARC 21 or MARCXML format, as well as subscriptions to a weekly update service

41 print-ready PDF volumes (called schedules), are available on the World Wide Web. A detailed outline of LCC is available on the World Wide Web.

Universal Decimal Classification (UDC)
Maintained by the UDC Consortium (UDCC) in a database of over 70,000 records.

Available online UDCS Linked Data  

Available online Structured data published in SKOS (SML/RDF) format.

Classification and Shelflisting Manual (2013)
Instructions for establishing and using classes in Library of Congress Classification. Developed and maintained by Library of Congress, Policy and Standards Division. Succeeds Subject Cataloging Manual: Shelflisting and Subject Cataloging Manual: Classification.

Available online Classification and Shelflisting Manual 2013 edition (with selected updates) available for download.

Available in Cataloger's Desktop

Available online Shelflisting instruction sheets guide

Further information available.

GPO Classification Manual, rev. July 1993
Principles and policies for use of Superintendent of Documents Classification for publications of the United States government. Developed by Superintendent of Documents, United States Government Printing Office.

Available online GPO Classification Manual

List of Classes
Official listing of publications available for selection by depository libraries participating in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP). U.S. government agencies assigned in Superintendent of Documents Classification by the U.S. Government Printing Office.

Available to download List of Classes print (updated semiannually).

Data files available in file repository (updated monthly). 

MARC

PCC Provider-Neutral E-Resource MARC Record Guidelines
Guidelines for electronic monographs, serials, and integrating resources in both RDA and AACR2.

Available online PCC Provider-Neutral E-Resource MARC Record Guidelines

Cataloging Electronic Resources: OCLC-MARC Coding Guidelines (rev. 2006)
List compiled by Jay Weitz of links to numerous primary sources for guidance in cataloging electronic resources. 

Avialable online Cataloging Electronic Resources: OCLC-MARC Coding Guidelines

UNIMARC (General)
International standards for representation and exchange of bibliographic data in machine-readable form. Developed and maintained by Permanent UNIMARC Committee, UNIMARC Strategic Programme, International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions.

UNIMARC Manual: Bibliographic Format, 3d ed. (2008)

Available in print: Munich: K.G. Saur. (978-3-598-24284-7) and in Concise Format online

UNIMARC Manual: Authorities Format, 3rd ed. (2009)

Available in print: Munich: K.G. Saur. (978-3-598-24286-1) and in Concise Format online.

UNIMARC Manual: Holdings Format, Version 1 (2007)

Available online UNIMARC Manual: Holdings Format

Concise UNIMARC Classification Format (2000)

Available online Concise UNIMARC Classification Format

Other Resources

Library of Congress Filing Rules (1980)

Guidelines for filing headings in catalogs, incorporating principles of Anglo-American Cataloging Rules, 2d ed., suitable also for computer filing. Developed by Library of Congress.

Available online Library of Congress Filing Rules

Available in Cataloger's Desktop

ALA Filing Rules (1980) Guidelines for filing headings in catalogs, incorporating principles of Anglo-American Cataloging Rules, 2d ed., suitable also for computer filing. Developed by RTSD Filing Committee, ALA.

Available in print (Chicago: ALA Editions) and as e-book (from Google Play)

ALA Rules for Filing Catalog Cards (2nd ed., 1968) Pauline A. Seely, editor.

Available in print (Chicago: ALA Editions) and as e-book (from Google Play)

Descriptive Cataloging

ALA-LC Romanization Tables
Transliteration schemes for non-roman scripts. Developed and maintained by Library of Congress.

Available online ALA-LC Romanization Tables

Archival Moving Image Materials: A Cataloging Manual (AMIM2) (2nd ed.)
Prepared by a committee of LC Motion Picture, Broadcasting, and Recorded Sound Staff. Provides cataloging rules (within the framework of AACR2, Chapter 7) for all types of moving image materials.

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop.

Descriptive Cataloging Manual (DCM) Z1: Name and Series Authority Records and LC Guidelines Supplement to MARC21 Format for Authority Data
Standards for name and series authority records followed by Library of Congress and Name Authority Cooperative Program participants. This parallels the MARC21 Format for Authority Data in structure and is meant to be used in conjunction with it. Developed and maintained by the Library of Congress Policy and Standards Division. The Policy and Standards Division has made available a comprehensive version of the Descriptive Cataloging Manual (DCM) Z1 (updated April 2016) and the LC Guidelines Supplement to the MARC 21 Format for Authority Data (updated April 2016)

Available online Descriptive Cataloging Manual (DCM) Z1: Name and Series Authority Records and LC Guidelines Supplement to MARC21 Format for Authority Data

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop.

Descriptive Cataloging of Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance, and Early Modern Manuscripts (AMREMM) (2003) 

Available online Descriptive Cataloging of Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance, and Early Modern Manuscripts

Available online as free PDF via ALA/ACRL.

DCRM(B): Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Books) (2011)

Available online DCRM(B): Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Books) 

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop.

Examples to Accompany Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Books)

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop; subscription required for full access.

DCRM(C): Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Cartographic)

Available online DCRM(C): Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Cartographic)

Will be available online in Cataloger’s Desktop.

DCRM(G): Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Graphics) 

Available online DCRM(G): Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Graphics) 

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop.

DCRM(S): Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Serials) (2008) 

Available online DCRM(S): Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Serials) 

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop.

NACO Participants’ Manual, 3d ed.
Procedures and guidelines followed by participants in the Name Authority Cooperative Program. Developed for the NACO Program of the Program for Cooperative Cataloging (PCC). Currently being revised for RDA. The 3d ed. contains examples showing older policies and practices and should not be used for RDA NACO cataloging.

Available online NACO Participants’ Manual

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop.

RDA and Cartographic Resources (2015)
Paige G. Andrew, Susan M. Moore, and Mary Larsgaard
Contains guidelines for practicing map catalogers and those new to cartographic resources, with focus on the differences between AACR2 and RDA practice.

Available in print: ALA Editions (978-0-8389-1131-0)

SACO Participants' Manual (2nd ed., 2007)
Procedures and guidelines followed by participants in the Subject Authority Cooperative Program. Developed for the SACO Program of the Program for Cooperative Cataloging (PCC).

Available online SACO Participants' Manual

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop.

Standard Citation Forms for Rare Materials Cataloging (3rd ed.)
List of standard forms for catalog citations of often-used bibliographies and catalogs; includes all formats found in special collections. Developed by the Bibliographic Standards Committee of the Rare Books and Manuscripts Section, Association of College and Research Libraries, ALA. Succeeds Standard Citation Forms for Published Bibliographies and Catalogs Used in Rare Book Cataloging, which was printed works–specific.

Available online Standard Citation Forms for Rare Materials Cataloging

 

Library of Congress-Program for Cooperative Cataloging Policy Statements (LC-PCC PSs)

RDA policy interpretations representing LC and PCC practice (except where noted as solely LC practice.

Available online Library of Congress-Program for Cooperative Cataloging Policy Statements (LC-PCC PSs)

Freely available as part of the RDA Toolkit (license not required), click on Resources tab.

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop

 

Descriptive Cataloging - Serials

CONSER Cataloging Manual CCM (2002; modules under revision)

RDA revision status of individual modules (and links to documentation)
Training and ready-reference tool, with explications of serials cataloging practice and illustrated examples. This is also cross-referenced with and serves as a companion to standards followed within the CONSER Program, especially AACR, RDA, Library of Congress Rule Interpretations and the CONSER Editing Guide. Free updates available from Cataloging Distribution Service.

Download available online CONSER Cataloging Manual CCM includes RDA revision status of individual modules (and links to documentation)

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop 

Module 31, Remote Access Electronic Serials (Online Serials)

Module 33, Newspapers
Newspaper cataloging guidelines for CONSER and the United States Newspaper Program. This supersedes Newspaper Cataloging and Union Listing Manual (1990), the former standard.
Section 33.18, “Electronic Newspapers”

Available online Newspapers

Module 35, Integrating Resources