Authoring and Interchange Framework for Adaptive XML Publishing Specifications
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO Z39.98-2012
Governing Standards Agency: ANSI/NISO/de jure
Defines a framework in which to develop XML markup languages to represent different kinds of information resources (books, periodicals, etc.), with the intent of producing documents suitable for transformation into different universally accessible formats. It uses a modular, extensible architecture to permit the creation of any number of document models, each custom-tailored for a particular kind of information resource. Available at:
http://www.daisy.org/z3998/2012/z3998-2012.html
Cost of Resource Exchange (CORE) Protocol
Version/ID Code (if any): NISO RP-10-2010
Governing Standards Agency: NISO/recommended practice
The purpose of this specification is to facilitate the transfer the exchange of cost and related financial information between systems. For example, these may be two systems within the same organization, such as an Integrated Library System (ILS) Acquisitions module and an Electronic Resource Management System (ERMS). Available at:
http://www.niso.org/workrooms/core
COUNTER Code of Practice for e-Resources
Version/ID Code (if any): Release 4 (published April 2012; implementation deadline: Dec. 31, 2013)
Governing Standards Agency: Project COUNTER/de facto
COUNTER provides an international, extendible Code of Practice for e-Resources that allows the usage of online information products and services to be measured in a credible, consistent and compatible way using vendor generated data. Replacing Release 3 for Journals and Databases and Release 1 for Books and Reference Works, Release 4 is an integrated Code of Practice that covers journals, databases, books, reference works, and multimedia content. After Dec. 31, 2013 only those vendors compliant with Release 4 will be considered to be COUNTER compliant. Available at:
https://www.projectcounter.org/code-of-practice-sections/general-information/
Data Elements for Binding Library Materials
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO Z39.76-1996
Governing Standards Agency: ANSI/NISO/de jure
Defines over three hundred required and optional data elements that can be used in a binding record to enable automated library systems to communicate with a bindery's automated system. This new standard was written by automation vendors and representatives of the library binding community to assure that the needs of both constituencies are addressed. Available at:
https://groups.niso.org/apps/group_public/document.php?document_id=6489
Demand Driven Acquisition of Monographs
Version/ID Code (if any): NISO RP-20-2014
Governing Standards Agency: NISO/recommended practice
Demand-Driven Acquisition (DDA) has become a common component of academic library collection development strategies, and is poised to expand to other types of libraries. There are a wide variety of ways in which DDA can be accomplished; this document provides an overview of those options and concludes with specific recommendations. Available at:
http://www.niso.org/workrooms/dda
Digital Object Identifier System
Version/ID Code (if any): ISO 26324:2012
Governing Standards Agency: ISO/de jure
A DOI name is an identifier of an entity—physical, digital or abstract—on digital networks. It provides information about that object, including where the object, or information about it, can be found on the Internet. The standard gives the syntax, description and resolution functional components of the Digital Object Identifier System. It also gives the general principles for the creation, registration, and administration of DOI names. Available at:
http://www.iso.org/iso/home/store/catalogue_tc/catalogue_detail.htm?csnumber=43506
E-Book Special Interest Group
Version/ID Code (if any): N/A
Governing Standards Agency: NISO Special Interest Group/special interest group
The SIG is comprised of dozens of participants from all parts of the NISO community: librarians, publishers, services for publishers, and software vendors. It is exploring a range of industry best practices and standards related to the creation, distribution, discovery, delivery and preservation of digital book content. The E-Book SIG is envisioned as being responsible for continuously monitoring and reviewing the state of the industry for e-books and suggesting areas for new initiatives within NISO or areas where NISO can engage with other communities on e-book work underway outside of NISO. The group will host thought leader meetings and commission relevant research to advance the state of the industry. Since membership will remain open, anyone may participate in the SIG via the Core group or the Observer/Monitor Group. Available at:
https://www.niso.org/standards-committees/e-book-special-interest-group
Electronic data interchange, American National Standards Institute (EDI ANSI X12)
In 1979, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) chartered the Accredited Standards Committee (ASC) X12 to develop uniform standards for inter-industry electronic exchange of business transactions, namely electronic data interchange. ANSI X12 was originally conceived to support companies across different industry sectors in North America however today there are more than 300,000 companies worldwide using X12 EDI standards in daily business transactions. ASC X12 also contributes to UN/EDIFACT messages that are used widely outside of the United States.
https://www.edibasics.com/edi-resources/document-standards/ansi/
Electronic data interchange for administration, commerce and transport (EDIFACT) -- Application level syntax rules
Version/ID Code (if any): ISO 9735:1988
Governing Standards Agency: ISO/de jure
EDIFACT is used to transfer electronic documents or business data from one computer system to another computer system, i.e. from one trading partner to another trading partner without human intervention. For example, invoicing information can be transferred from providers to library systems. Available at:
http://www.iso.org/iso/home/store/catalogue_tc/catalogue_detail.htm?csnumber=17592 (purchase)
Electronic data interchange for administration, commerce and transport (EDIFACT) -- Library Book Supply
Version/ID Code (if any): Version 1.2
Governing Standards Agency: EDItEUR/de jure
The EDItEUR EDI Implementation Guidelines for Library Book Supply cover the use of EDIFACT messaging to handle quotations, orders, order responses and other order-related messages, and invoices/credit notes. Available at:
http://www.editeur.org/31/Library-Book-Supply/
Electronic data interchange for administration, commerce and transport (EDIFACT) -- Serials & Subscriptions Product
Version/ID Code (if any): Version 1.3
Governing Standards Agency: EDItEUR/de jure
The EDItEUR EDI Implementation Guidelines for Serials cover the use of EDIFACT messaging to notify actual or revised issue dates or other changes affecting the pattern of output of journal issues, to handle claims and claim responses, and to send invoices and credit notes. Available at:
http://www.editeur.org/48/Serials-and-Subscription-Products/
Electronic Resources Management Initiative (ERMI)
Version/ID Code (if any): 2004
Governing Standards Agency: Digital Library Federation (DLF)/de facto
DLF ERMI provides common specifications for the management of license agreements, related administrative information, and the internal processes associated with licensed electronic resources. Available at:
http://old.diglib.org/pubs/dlf102/
Establishing Suggested Practices Regarding Single Sign-On (ESPRESSO)
Version/ID Code (if any): NISO RP-11-2011
Governing Standards Agency: NISO/recommended practice
ESPRESSO seeks to address the question of "perfecting single-sign-on (SSO) authentication to achieve seamless item-level linking through SSO technologies in a networked information environment." It recommends practical solutions and a path forward for improving the success of SSO authentication technologies for providing a seamless experience for the user and further aims to promote the adoption by campuses and service providers of a family of solutions to make the access improvements a reality. Available at:
https://www.niso.org/standards-committees/espresso
Framework of Guidance for Building Good Digital Collections
Version/ID code: 3rd edition, 2007
Governing standards agency/standards type: NISO/recommended practice
Provides an overview of some of the major components and activities involved in the creation of good digital collections and provides a framework for identifying, organizing, and applying existing knowledge and resources to support the development of sound local practices for creating and managing good digital collections. It is intended for two audiences: cultural heritage organizations planning projects to create digital collections and funding organizations that want to encourage the development of good digital collections. Available at:
https://www.niso.org/sites/default/files/2017-08/framework3.pdf
Guidelines for Alphabetical Arrangement of Letters & Sorting of Numerals & Other Symbols
Version/ID Code (if any): NISO TR03-1999
Governing Standards Agency: NISO/technical report
This technical report provides rules for the alphabetical arrangement of headings in list of all kinds, such as bibliographies, indexes, dictionaries, directories, inventories, etc. It also covers the sorting of Arabic or Roman numbers, and other symbols. It consists of seven rules that cover problems which may arise in alphanumeric arrangements of headings. The technical report is based on the traditional orders of letters in the English alphabet and that of the numerals is ascending arithmetical order. It does not address issues concerning meaning or type of headings. The rules can generally be applied by human begins as well as by computers. Each rule is followed by illustrative examples. Available at:
https://www.niso.org/sites/default/files/2017-08/tr03.pdf
Holdings Statements for Bibliographic Items
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO Z39.71-2006 (Rev 2011)
Governing Standards Agency: NISO/de jure
The standard specifies display requirements for holdings statements for bibliographic items. This promotes consistency in the communication and exchange of holdings information for items in any physical or electronic medium. Available at:
https://groups.niso.org/apps/group_public/download.php/18121/Z39.71-2006_%28R2011%29.pdf
Improving OpenURLs Through Analytics (IOTA)
Version/ID Code (if any): N/A
Governing Standards Agency: NISO/project
The OpenURL Quality Metrics Working Group -- otherwise known as IOTA -- builds on the work already underway to investigate the feasibility of creating industry-wide, transparent, and scalable metrics for evaluating and comparing the quality of OpenURL implementations across content providers. Available at:
http://www.openurlquality.org/
Information Services and Use: Metrics & Statistics for Libraries and Information Providers Data Dictionary
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO Z39.7-2004
Governing Standards Agency: ANSI/NISO/de jure
Identifies categories for basic library statistical data reported at the national level and provides associated definitions of terms. Deals with the following areas: reporting unit and target population, human resources, collection resources, infrastructure, finances, and services. In addition, it identifies new measures associated with networked services, databases, and performance. Not intended to be comprehensive in scope, it presents a framework for comparable library data by describing common elements pertaining to libraries of various types in the US. It does not address detailed statistics for specific areas where it seems more appropriate for experts in those areas to make recommendations (e.g., music, government documents, maps). Available at:
https://groups.niso.org/apps/group_public/document.php?document_id=10581
Information Technology--automatic identification and data capture techniques--Code 39 bar code symbology specification
Version/ID Code (if any): ISO/IEC 16388: 2007
Governing Standards Agency: ISO/International Electrotechnical Commission/de jure
The technology of bar coding is based on the recognition of patterns encoded in bars and spaces of defined dimensions. There are numerous methods of encoding information in bar code form, known as symbologies. Code 39 is one such symbology. The rules defining the translation of characters into bar and space patterns and other essential features are known as the symbology specification. Available at:
http://www.iso.org/iso/catalogue_detail.htm?csnumber=43897 (purchase)
Institutional Identifiers (I2) : Institutional Identification: Identifying Organizations in the Information Supply Chain
Version/ID Code (if any): NISO RP-17-2013
Governing Standards Agency: NISO/recommended practice
The recommended practice defines the requirements for a standard identifier for institutional identification in the supply chain. It provides background on the collaboration agreement between the NISO I² Working Group and the International Standard Name Identifier (ISNI) International Agency to use the ISNI standard (ISO 27729) and the ISNI-IA's infrastructure for institutional identification, rather than publish a separate standard for institutions. Available at:
http://www.niso.org/workrooms/i2
International Standard Book Number (ISBN)
Version/ID Code (if any): ISO 2108:2005
Governing Standards Agency: ISO/de jure
The International Standard Book Number (ISBN) is a unique international identifier for monographic publications. Published as an international standard and in wide use since the 1970s, it has been adopted in over 160 countries. Assigning an ISBN not only enables each publication to be uniquely identified but also enables rich product metadata to be associated with a particular publication record as well as the accumulation of sales data by specific title, edition, and format. ISBNs can be readily displayed as machine readable bar codes. Available at:
http://www.iso.org/iso/catalogue_detail?csnumber=36563 (purchase)
International Standard Music Number (ISMN)
Version/ID Code (if any): ISO 10957.1993
Governing Standards Agency: ISO/de jure
The International Standard Music Number identifies publications consisting of musical notation, whether for sale, hire, or gratis. Available at:
http://www.iso.org/iso/iso_catalogue/catalogue_tc/catalogue_detail.htm?csnumber=18931 (purchase)
International Standard Name Identifier (ISNI)
Version/ID Code (if any): ISO 27729:2012
Governing Standards Agency: ISO/de jure
The International Standard Name Identifier will enable the public identities of parties involved in media content industries to be uniquely identified so that they can be clearly disambiguated where otherwise there might be doubt. The parties to be identified may be involved in any stage of activity from creation to production, management, and content distribution chains and can be a natural or legal person, fictional character, or groups of such parties. Available at:
http://www.iso.org/iso/catalogue_detail?csnumber=44292 (purchase)
International Standard Serial Number (ISSN)
Version/ID Code (if any): ISO 3297:2007
Governing Standards Agency: ISO/de jure
The International Standard Serial Number (ISO 3297) identifies serial publications and other continuing resources, whether available in print or digital formats. Available at:
http://www.iso.org/iso/catalogue_detail?csnumber=39601 (purchase)
International Standard Text Code (ISTC)
Version/ID Code (if any): ISO 20147:2009
Governing Standards Agency: ISO/de jure
The International Standard Text Code, which is applicable to any textual work, is a numbering system supporting the unique identification of textual works. The different manifestations of a work (e.g. paperback book, filmscript, e-book) can be collocated and associated with the original textual work through the ISTC. Available at:
http://www.istc-international.org/html/ (purchase)
International Standard Serial Numbering (ISSN)
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO Z39.9-1992 (R2001)
Governing Standards Agency: American National Standards Institute/National Information Standards Organization/de jure (inactive)
This standard defined the structure and presentation of a code to uniformly identify serial publications in print and nonprint formats. This standard set forth the format and characteristics of the ISSN and designated a central authority for code administration. Available at:
https://groups.niso.org/apps/group_public/project/details.php?project_id=35
Knowledge Bases And Related Tools (KBART)
Version/ID Code (if any): NISO RP-9-2010
Governing Standards Agency: NISO and UKSG/recommended practice
A link resolver is a tool that helps library users connect to their institutions’ electronic resources. The data that drives links is stored in a knowledge base, the quality of which relies heavily on data that content providers (publishers, aggregators, etc.) send to the knowledge base developer. Errors in the data often propagate to the knowledge base. Because there is no standard format for the data, knowledge base developers expend considerable effort converting title lists from different providers to a single format, sometimes introducing additional errors or making error-checking difficult. The NISO/UKSG KBART recommended practice recommends best practices for formatting and distributing title lists which will greatly increase the accessibility of the products. Available at:
Library Binding
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO/LBI Z39.78-2000
Governing Standards Agency: ANSI/NISO/Library Binding Institute/de jure
Describes the technical specifications and materials specifications for first-time hardcover binding of serials publications and paperbound books for library use, and rebinding of hardcover books and serials intended for library use. Available at:
http://www.lbibinders.org/assets/documents/LibraryBindingStandard.pdf
Machine Readable Cataloging (MARC)
Version/ID Code (if any): MARC 21
Governing Standards Agency: Library of Congress Network Development & MARC Standards Office and Library and Archives Canada Standards Division/de jure
MARC was first developed in the late 1960s at the Library of Congress; it represented the first major attempt to encode bibliographic data in machine-readable form. MARC uses a mixture of fixed and variable fields to record information. The variable fields are themselves a mixture of coded and textual data. The MARC format is defined in ISO 2709, which prescribes numeric field names that contain alphanumeric subfields. The MARC format in use in the US is known as MARC 21. UNIMARC is a variant common in Europe. While there are five formats in the MARC 21 suite, the Bibliographic and Authority formats are those most commonly used. Available at:
Making Good on the Promise of ERM: A Standards and Best Practices Discussion Paper
Version/ID Code (if any): 2012
Governing Standards Agency: NISO/discussion paper
“Making Good on the Promise of ERM” is the report of the ERM Data Standards and Best Practices Review Working Group. The analysis began with a review of the ERMI data dictionary as it presently exists and a mapping of ERMI data elements to those within relevant standards-related projects (e.g., CORE, SUSHI, ONIX-PL, etc.). Vendors, libraries using ERM systems, and other identified stakeholders were consulted via surveys and/or more in-depth interviews to solicit additional feedback concerning data requirements and ERM system implementation and management issues. Following the analysis, the working group developed recommendations regarding the future of the ERMI data dictionary within that broader context, described typical challenges libraries face in using currently available ERM systems and services, and identified gaps in interoperability and best practices. Available at:
https://groups.niso.org/apps/group_public/document.php?document_id=7946
ONIX for Books Product Information Message
Version/ID Code (if any): Release 3.0 is current
Governing Standards Agency: EDItEUR/trade
The international standard for representing and communicating book industry product information in electronic form. Available at:
http://www.editeur.org/83/Overview/
ONIX for Licensing Terms (OLT)
Version/ID Code (if any): N/A
Governing Standards Agency: EDItEUR/trade
The generic name for parts of the ONIX family dealing with licensing terms and rights information. Includes: ONIX-PL (ONIX for Publications Licenses), ONIX-RS (ONIX for Rights Information Services), and ONIX for RROs (Reproduction Rights Organizations), and Royalty Reporting. Built on a consistent underlying model of rights and usages, OLT formats are specialized to the needs of different user groups and applications. Available at:
http://www.editeur.org/85/Overview/
ONIX for Preservation Holdings (ONIX-PH)
Version/ID Code (if any): Version 0.21 Draft
Governing Standards Agency: EDItEUR/trade
The ONIX for Preservation Holdings format is designed for structured, machine-to-machine communications about online resources that have been preserved or committed for preservation. Although initially formulated with online journals in mind, the format can also accommodate information about other kinds of resource, such as e-books, e-book collections, or online databases, as these gain importance in the library supply chain. Available at:
http://www.editeur.org/127/ONIX-PH/
ONIX for Price Catalog (ONIX-PC)
Version/ID Code (if any): Version 1.1.1
Governing Standards Agency: EDItEUR/trade
An XML message structure for communicating product catalog and pricing information about subscription products. ONIX-PC may be used between publishers, subscription agents, other intermediaries, and library or consortium customers in the library supply chain. The message provides comprehensive facilities to convey simple and complex pricing models, including tiered pricing arrangements that are based upon some measures of the size of the purchasing customer. All types of products available on subscription are supported, from the more traditional print and online journals, through multi-component packaged products to e-book collections and database products. Available at:
http://www.editeur.org/126/ONIX-PC/
ONIX-PL/ONIX for Publications Licenses
Version/ID Code (if any): v1.0
Governing Standards Agency: EDItEUR/NISO/trade
ONIX for Publications Licenses (ONIX-PL) is part of a family of XML formats for the communication of licensing terms under the generic name ONIX for Licensing Terms. ONIX-PL is specialized to handle the licenses under which libraries and other institutions use digital resources, particularly but by no means exclusively electronic journals. Available at:
http://www.editeur.org/21/ONIX-PL
ONIX for Serials (family of formats)
Version/ID Code (if any): N/A
Governing Standards Agency: EDItEUR/trade
ONIX for Serials is a family of XML formats for communicating information about serial products and subscription information, using the design principles and many of the elements defined in ONIX for Books. The specific standards include: SPS (Serials Products and Subscriptions), SOH (Serials Online Holdings), SRN (Serials Release Notification), Serials Coverage Statement, and Structured Name and Address Model. Available at:
http://www.editeur.org/17/ONIX-for-Serials/
Access and License Indicators
Version/ID code: N/A
Governing standards agency/standards type: NISO/project
This project will develop standardized bibliographic metadata and visual indicators to describe the accessibility of journal articles as well as potentially describe how "open" the item is. Many offerings are available from publishers under the banner of Open Access (OA), Increased Access, Public Access, or other descriptions; the terms offered vary between publishers and, in some cases, based on the funding organization of the author. Adding to the potential confusion, a number of publishers also offer hybrid options in which some articles are "open" while the rest of the journal's content are available only by subscription or license. No standardized bibliographic metadata currently provides information on whether a specific article is freely readable and what re-use rights might be available to readers. Visual indicators or icons indicating the openness of an article are inconsistent in both design and use across publishers or even across journals from the same publisher. The project will focus initially on metadata elements that describe the readership rights associated with an OA article. Specifically, the NISO Working Group will determine the optimal mechanisms to describe and transmit the right, if any, an arbitrary user has to access a specific article from any internet connection point. Recommendations will include a means for distribution and aggregation of this metadata in machine-readable form. The group will also consider the feasibility of incorporating information on re-use rights and the feasibility of reaching agreement on transmission of that data. Available at:
https://www.niso.org/standards-committees/access-and-license-indicators
OpenURL Framework for Context-Sensitive Services
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO Z39.88-2004 (R2010)
Governing Standards Agency: ANSI/de jure
The OpenURL Framework Standard defines an architecture for creating OpenURL Framework Applications. An OpenURL Framework Application is a networked service environment in which packages of information are transported over a network. These packages have a description of a referenced resource at their core, and they are transported with the intent of obtaining context-sensitive services pertaining to the referenced resource. Available at:
https://www.niso.org/publications/z3988-2004-r2010
Presentation & Identification of E-Journals (PIE-J)
Version/ID Code (if any): NISO RP-16-2013
Governing Standards Agency: NISO/recommended practice
PIE-J offers guidance to e-journal publishers and providers that will help ensure that e-journal content can be reliably discovered, cited, and accessed by users over time. These recommended practices have a deliberately narrow focus on e-journals, whether born digital or retroactively digitized and focus on only those elements of an e journal that relate to the presentation of title information and supporting metadata, plus practices related to title identification and content access over time. Available at:
Resource Description and Access (RDA)
Version/ID Code (if any): 2013 with updates
Governing Standards Agency: RDA Steering Committee
RDA has replaced AACR2 as the predominant content standard in the library community. It is intended to be useful beyond the library community as well. While primarily focused on descriptive metadata, some instructions cover technical, rights, and structural metadata. RDA pushes the boundaries of a content standard, referring to sets of rules as “elements” which makes it closer to a structure standard than AACR2. Different communities will likely find either RDA’s rules aspect or its data element aspect more interesting than the other. RDA element sets and value vocabularies have been registered in the Open Metadata Registry (http://rdvocab.info/). The initial version of RDA was released in the summer of 2010 and included placeholders for several planned chapters. Available at:
http://rdatoolkit.org/ (purchase)
A new beta toolkit was released in 2018: https://www.rdatoolkit.org/3Rproject/
RFID in Libraries: Data elements and guidelines for implementation
Version/ID Code (if any): ISO 28560-1:2011
Governing Standards Agency: ISO/de jure
Specifies a model for the use of radio frequency identification (RFID) tags for items appropriate for the needs of all types of libraries, including academic, public, corporate, special and school. It provides the framework to ensure interoperability between libraries in exchange of library items with RFID tags, the freedom of the library to acquire or renew equipment or library items from different vendors and interoperability of a single RFID application from the vendor’s perspective. Available at:
http://www.iso.org/iso/home/store/catalogue_tc/catalogue_detail.htm?csnumber=50996 (purchase)
RFID in US Libraries
Version/ID Code (if any): NISO RP-6-2012
Governing Standards Agency: NISO/ recommended practice
Provides recommendations for implementing RFID in US libraries in a manner that will promote interoperability. It includes a recommended data model and discussions of security, tag migration, the book supply chain, privacy, and vandalism. It serves as a US profile to the three-part international standard ISO 28560, RFID in Libraries. All sections of the original 2008 document have been reviewed and updated to reflect changes in practices for protection of personal privacy, support advanced functionality, facilitate security, protect against vandalism, and allow the RFID tag to be used in the entire lifecycle of the book and other library materials. Available at:
https://www.niso.org/publications/niso-rp-6-2012-rfid-us-libraries
Serial Item and Contribution Identifier (SICI)
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO Z39.56 (inactive)
Governing Standards Agency: ANSI/NISO/de jure
The SICI is a variable length code which can be used to identify both print and electronic serial publications. This edition introduced significant changes such as the ability to identify if the serial is electronic, paper, or microformat and the identification of derivative parts of a serial. It also accommodated proprietary numbering schemes. Changes in the title code algorithm made it easier to use, and improved the uniqueness of the SICI code for contributions. Available at:
https://groups.niso.org/apps/group_public/project/details.php?project_id=75
Shared Electronic Resource Understanding (SERU)
Version/ID Code (if any): NISO RP-7-2012
Governing Standards Agency: NISO/recommended practice
A mechanism that can be used as an alternative to a license agreement. SERU expresses commonly shared understandings of the content provider, the subscribing institution, and authorized users; the nature of the content; use of materials and inappropriate uses; privacy and confidentiality; online performance and service provision; and archiving and perpetual access. Available at:
http://www.niso.org/publications/rp/RP-7-2012_SERU.pdf
Standardized Usage Statistics Harvesting Initiative (SUSHI) Protocol
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO Z39.93-2007/de jure
Governing Standards Agency: American National Standards Institute/National Information Standards Organization/de jure
This standard defines an automated request and response model for the harvesting of electronic resource usage data utilizing a Web services framework that can replace the user-mediated collection of usage data reports. Available at:
https://groups.niso.org/apps/group_public/project/details.php?project_id=21
Syntax for the Digital Object Identifier
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO Z39.56
Governing Standards Agency: ANSI/NISO/de jure
Defines the composition and order of the unambiguous alphanumeric identifier string in the Digital Object Identifier (DOI) system used to reference an intellectual property entity in the digital environment. Available at:
https://groups.niso.org/apps/group_public/project/details.php?project_id=75
Transfer Code of Practice
Version/ID Code (if any): Version 2.0
Governing Standards Agency: NISO
Transfer outlines a set of guidelines for the transfer of ownership of a journal from one publisher to another. It is meant to provide for a smooth transition and to offer some protection of the rights of the subscriber to the paid for content. Available at:
https://www.uksg.org/sites/uksg.org/files/TRANSFER_Code_of_Practice_3%200_FINAL.pdf
Uniform Symbology Specification-Codabar
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/AIM BC3-1995
Governing Standards Agency: ANSI/AIM/de jure
Codabar is a library-specific barcode that utilizes a 14 character numeric label. Available at:
https://aimglobal.site-ym.com/store/ViewProduct.aspx?id=1586895 (purchase)
