AudioMD
Version/ID Code (if any): Version 2.0 Schema
Governing Standards Agency: Library of Congress/de facto
AudioMD contains technical metadata that describe a digital audio archival object. Available at:
http://www.loc.gov/standards/amdvmd/audiovideoMDschemas.html
Audit and Certification of Trustworthy Digital Repositories
Version/ID Code (if any): Consultative Committee for Space Data Systems 652.0-M-1, ISO 16363:2012
Governing Standards Agency: Consultative Committee for Space Data Systems/ISO/de jure
Defines a recommended practice for assessing the trustworthiness of digital repositories. It is applicable to the entire range of digital repositories and can be used as a basis for audit and certification. Available at:
http://public.ccsds.org/publications/archive/652x0m1.pdf
Definitions of Digital Preservation
Version/ID Code (if any): 2007
Governing Standards Agency: ALCTS/PARS/definitions
Definitions developed to promote an understanding of digital preservation within the library community, as well as allied professions and the user communities the libraries exist to serve. There are short, medium, and long versions. Available at:
http://www.ala.org/alcts/resources/preserv/defdigpres0408
E-Book Special Interest Group
Version/ID Code (if any): N/A
Governing Standards Agency: NISO Special Interest Group/special interest group
The SIG is comprised of dozens of participants from all parts of the NISO community: librarians, publishers, services for publishers, and software vendors. It is exploring a range of industry best practices and standards related to the creation, distribution, discovery, delivery and preservation of digital book content. The E-Book SIG is envisioned as being responsible for continuously monitoring and reviewing the state of the industry for e-books and suggesting areas for new initiatives within NISO or areas where NISO can engage with other communities on e-book work underway outside of NISO. The group will host thought leader meetings and commission relevant research to advance the state of the industry. Since membership will remain open, anyone may participate in the SIG via the Core group or the Observer/Monitor Group. Available at:
https://www.niso.org/standards-committees/e-book-special-interest-group
Framework of Guidance for Building Good Digital Collections
Version/ID code: 3rd edition, 2007
Governing standards agency/standards type: NISO/recommended practice
Provides an overview of some of the major components and activities involved in the creation of good digital collections and provides a framework for identifying, organizing, and applying existing knowledge and resources to support the development of sound local practices for creating and managing good digital collections. It is intended for two audiences: cultural heritage organizations planning projects to create digital collections and funding organizations that want to encourage the development of good digital collections. Available at:
https://www.niso.org/sites/default/files/2017-08/framework3.pdf
Producer-Archive Interface Methodology Abstract Standard (PAIMAS)
Version/ID Code (if any): CCSDS 651.-M-1, ISO 20652
Governing Standards Agency: Consultative Committee for Space Data Systems/ISO/de jure
PAIMAS identifies and provides a structure for the interactions which take place between an information producer and a deposit archive. The standard covers the first stages of the ingest process defined by OAIS (ISO 14721). It identifies the phases required for transferring information, and defines objectives, actions, and expected results for each phase. It provides a methodological framework for achieving the phases and forms the basis for identifying and developing standards and technologies to support their delivery. Available at:
https://public.ccsds.org/Pubs/651x0m1.pdf
Reference Model for an Open Archival Information System (OAIS)
Version/ID Code (if any): CCSDS 650.0-M-2, ISO 14721:2012
Governing Standards Agency: Consultative Committee for Space Data Systems/ISO/de jure
This reference model addresses a full range of archival information preservation functions including ingest, archival storage, data management, access, and dissemination. It also addresses the migration of digital information to new media and forms, the data models used to represent the information, the role of software in information preservation, and the exchange of digital information among archives. It identifies both internal and external interfaces to the archive functions, and it identifies a number of high-level services at these interfaces. It provides various illustrative examples and some "best practice" recommendations. It defines a minimal set of responsibilities for an archive to be called an OAIS, and it also defines a maximal archive to provide a broad set of useful terms and concepts. Available at:
http://public.ccsds.org/publications/archive/650x0m2.pdf
Requirements for Bodies Providing Audit and Certification of Candidate Trustworthy Digital Repositories
Version/ID Code (if any): CCSDS 652.1-M-1, ISO/DIS 16919
Governing Standards Agency: Consultative Committee for Space Data Systems/ISO/de jure
This document specifies requirements and provides guidance for bodies providing audit and certification of digital repositories, based on the metrics contained within ISO/IEC 17021 and CCSDS 652.0-M-1/ISO 16363. It is primarily intended to support the accreditation of bodies providing such certification. The requirements contained in this CCSDS Recommended Practice need to be demonstrated in terms of competence and reliability by any organization or body providing certification of digital repositories. Available at:
AIC Code of Ethics and Guidelines for Practice
Version/ID Code (if any): Revised 1994
Governing Standards Agency: American Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works/recommended practice
Conservators strictly adhere to the Code of Ethics and Guidelines for Practice which describes how conservators should behave and outlines a standard practice to ensure that objects are handled appropriately. It also formally establishes the conservator/owner relationship so that all treatment decisions are made collaboratively significantly reducing the chance of misunderstandings. Those in violation can be reported to AIC for review. Available at:
http://www.conservation-us.org/index.cfm?fuseaction=page.viewPage&pageID=858&nodeID=1
Data Elements for Binding Library Materials
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO Z39.76-1996
Governing Standards Agency: ANSI/NISO/de jure
Defines over three hundred required and optional data elements that can be used in a binding record to enable automated library systems to communicate with a bindery's automated system. This new standard was written by automation vendors and representatives of the library binding community to assure that the needs of both constituencies are addressed. Available at:
https://groups.niso.org/apps/group_public/download.php/6489/Data%20Elements%20for%20Binding%20Library%20Materials.pdf
Environmental Conditions for Exhibiting Library and Archival Materials
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO Z39.79-2001
Governing Standards Agency: ANSI/NISO/de jure
This standard establishes criteria to minimize the effect of environmental factors on deterioration of library and archival materials on exhibit. Specific parameters are recommended for exposure to light, relative humidity, temperature, gaseous, and particulate contaminants, display techniques, and case and support material components. The standard is intended as a guide for librarians, archivists, exhibition designers, and others involved in preparing library and archival materials for exhibition. Available at:
https://groups.niso.org/apps/group_public/download.php/6482/Environmental%20Conditions%20for%20Exhibiting
%20Library%20and%20Archival%20Materials.pdf
Environmental Guidelines for the Storage of Paper Records
Version/ID Code (if any): NISO TR01-1995
Governing Standards Agency: NISO/technical report
This technical report suggests environmental parameters that influence the preservation and paper-based records in libraries and archives. Storage parameters addressed include temperature, relative humidity, exposure to light, gaseous contaminates, and particulates. Values and procedures for the various parameters are recommended. Available at:
https://www.niso.org/publications/niso-tr01-1995-environmental-guidelines-storage-paper-records
Guidelines for Information about Preservation Products
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO Z39.77-2001
Governing Standards Agency: ANSI/NISO/de jure
Specifies the information that should be included in advertisements, catalogs, and promotional materials describing products used for the storage, binding, or repair of library materials, including books, pamphlets, sound recordings, videotapes, films, CDs, manuscripts, maps, and photographs. Available at:
https://groups.niso.org/apps/group_public/download.php/6510/Guidelines%20for%20Information%20About%20
Information Services and Use: Metrics & Statistics for Libraries and Information Providers Data Dictionary
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO Z39.7-2004
Governing Standards Agency: ANSI/NISO/de jure
Identifies categories for basic library statistical data reported at the national level and provides associated definitions of terms. Deals with the following areas: reporting unit and target population, human resources, collection resources, infrastructure, finances, and services. In addition, it identifies new measures associated with networked services, databases, and performance. Not intended to be comprehensive in scope, it presents a framework for comparable library data by describing common elements pertaining to libraries of various types in the US. It does not address detailed statistics for specific areas where it seems more appropriate for experts in those areas to make recommendations (e.g., music, government documents, maps). Available at:
https://groups.niso.org/apps/group_public/project/details.php?project_id=7
International Standard Name Identifier (ISNI)
Version/ID Code (if any): ISO 27729:2012
Governing Standards Agency: ISO/de jure
The International Standard Name Identifier will enable the public identities of parties involved in media content industries to be uniquely identified so that they can be clearly disambiguated where otherwise there might be doubt. The parties to be identified may be involved in any stage of activity from creation to production, management, and content distribution chains and can be a natural or legal person, fictional character, or groups of such parties. Available at:
Available at: http://www.iso.org/iso/catalogue_detail?csnumber=44292 (purchase)
Library Binding
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO/LBI Z39.78-2000
Governing Standards Agency: ANSI/NISO/Library Binding Institute/de jure
Describes the technical specifications and materials specifications for first-time hardcover binding of serials publications and paperbound books for library use, and rebinding of hardcover books and serials intended for library use. Available at:
http://www.lbibinders.org/assets/documents/LibraryBindingStandard.pdf
Permanence of Paper for Publications and Documents in Libraries and Archives
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO Z39.48-1992 (R2009)
Governing Standards Agency: ANSI/NISO/de jure
This standard establishes criteria for coated and uncoated paper that will last several hundred years without significant deterioration under normal use and storage conditions in libraries and archives. This standard identifies the specific properties of such paper and specifies the tests required to demonstrate these properties. Available at:
https://groups.niso.org/apps/group_public/download.php/13464/Z39-48-1992_r2009.pdf
Physical Delivery of Library Resources
Version/ID Code (if any): NISO RP-12-2012
Governing Standards Agency: NISO/recommended practice
The purpose of this document is to recommend practices about the physical movement of items during the delivery of the items to the requesting library and their return to the lending library. The recommendations in this document focus on the movement of the physical items (e.g., books and audiovisual materials) between libraries and between library and patron. This Recommended Practice focuses on three key areas: the physical move, automation, and the management of physical delivery. Available at:
https://www.niso.org/publications/niso-rp-12-2012-physical-delivery-library-resources
Analyzed Layout and Text Object (ALTO)
Version/ID Code (if any): Version 2.0
Governing Standards Agency: Library of Congress/de jure
ALTO is a XML Schema that details technical metadata for describing the layout and content of physical text resources, such as pages of a book or a newspaper. It most commonly serves as an extension schema used within the Metadata Encoding and Transmission Schema (METS) administrative metadata section. However, ALTO instances can also exist as a standalone document used independently of METS. Available at:
http://www.loc.gov/standards/alto/
AudioMD
Version/ID Code (if any): Version 2.0 Schema
Governing Standards Agency: Library of Congress/de facto
AudioMD contains technical metadata that describe a digital audio archival object. Available at:
http://www.loc.gov/standards/amdvmd/audiovideoMDschemas.html
Data Dictionary--Technical Metadata for Digital Still Images
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO Z39.87-2017
Governing Standards Agency: NISO/de jure
This standard defines a set of metadata elements for raster digital images to enable users to develop, exchange, and interpret digital image files. The dictionary has been designed to facilitate interoperability between systems, services, and software as well as to support the long-term management of and continuing access to digital image collections. Available at:
Dublin Core Metadata Element Set
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/NISO Z39.85-2007
Governing Standards Agency: NISO/de jure
Defines 15 metadata elements for resource description in a cross-disciplinary information environment. The Dublin Core Usage Guidelines sometimes suggest (but do not require) specific content guidelines or controlled vocabularies. Available at:
https://groups.niso.org/apps/group_public/project/details.php?project_id=57
EBUCore
Version/ID Code (if any): Tech 3293, Specification v. 1.6
Governing Standards Agency: European Broadcasting Union/de facto
The EBU Core Metadata Set is proposed to aggregate information within the EBU (European Broadcast Union) community. The Dublin Core used in the EBU Core Metadata Set will allow EBU Members to contribute to Europeana (the European Digital Library Project in collaboration with National Libraries and Museums), and EUScreen (a European project to provide access to broadcasters audiovisual resource with a participation of several EBU members and in liaison with Europeana). Available at:
http://tech.ebu.ch/lang/en/MetadataEbuCore
Embedding Metadata in Digital Audio Files
Version/ID Code (if any): Version 2
Governing Standards Agency: Federal Agencies Digitization Guidelines Initiative (FADGI)/de facto
Embedded metadata is a part of the content file and cannot become separated from it. It can provide a brief statement of information provided in fuller form through external metadata standards. The Broadcast WAVE file provides a place in the file header for extended information about file creation, content, etc. The Federal Agencies Audio-Visual Working Group draft guideline on Broadcast WAVE Metadata represents a minimal set of recommended embedded metadata for historical and cultural heritage digital audio reformatting. Available at:
http://www.digitizationguidelines.gov/guidelines/digitize-embedding.html
Encoded Archival Description (EAD)
Version/ID Code (if any): 2002
Governing Standards Agency: Library of Congress Network Development and MARC Standards Office and Society of American Archivists Technical Committee for Encoded Archival Description (TS-EAD)/de facto
EAD is a markup language for archival finding aids. It provides XML elements for structural and presentational data typically found in finding aid documents. While EAD is a markup language in the sense that it “flags” data structures as they appear in a pre-existing text, it is also the primary source of (semi-)structured descriptive metadata in archives. Available at:
Metadata Encoding and Transmission Standard (METS)
Version/ID Code (if any): 1.9.1
Governing Standards Agency: Library of Congress Network Development and MARC Standards Office/de facto
METS is an XML metadata standard intended to package all the information needed to represent a complex object, including both primary files and metadata that describes them. It defines its own structure for representing files and the relationships between them, and allows embedding or referencing descriptive, technical, rights, source, and digital provenance metadata defined by other schemas. METS has various levels of support in digital asset management systems, including DigiTool, Greenstone, and the Archivists’ Toolkit. This standard grew out of early work on representing complex digital objects by the Making of America II project. METS is maintained at the Library of Congress and through a volunteer Editorial Board. Available at:
http://www.loc.gov/standards/mets/
Metadata Object Description Schema (MODS)
Version/ID Code (if any): 3.4
Governing Standards Agency: LC Network Development and MARC Standards Office/de facto
MODS was developed by the Library of Congress Network Development and MARC Standards Office as a MARC-compatible metadata format expressed in XML and using language-based element names. MODS takes a similar approach to resource description as MARC, with some rearranging, removing, and adding of data elements. MODS is frequently used as a descriptive metadata structure standard inside METS metadata wrappers for storage or exchange of digital objects. Available at:
http://www.loc.gov/standards/mods/
ONIX for Preservation Holdings (ONIX-PH)
Version/ID Code (if any): Version 0.21 Draft
Governing Standards Agency: EDItEUR/trade
The ONIX for Preservation Holdings format is designed for structured, machine-to-machine communications about online resources that have been preserved or committed for preservation. Although initially formulated with online journals in mind, the format can also accommodate information about other kinds of resource, such as e-books, e-book collections, or online databases, as these gain importance in the library supply chain. Available at:
http://www.editeur.org/127/ONIX-PH/
PBCore
Version/ID Code (if any): Version 2.1
Governing Standards Agency: Corporation for Public Broadcasting)/de facto
Version 2.0 of PBCore (the Public Broadcasting Metadata Dictionary) has been developed by a cross-organizational team of public radio and television producers and managers, archivists and information scientists to provide—for television, radio, and Web activities—a standard way of describing and using descriptive data, allowing content to be more easily retrieved and shared among colleagues, software systems, institutions, community and production partners, private citizens, and educators. It can also be used as a guide for the onset of an archival or asset management process at an individual station or institution. Available at:
Preservation & Digitization Actions (PDA) : terminology for MARC 21 field 583
Version/ID Code (if any): N/A
Governing Standards Agency: Library of Congress/recommended practice
PDA: Terminology serves both as instructional guidelines and as data dictionary. Part 1 is introductory and presents the compendium of standardized preservation and digitization action terms. Part 2 consists of construction guidelines for 583 fields focusing on particular actions. Each particular set is conceived as a “pull-out” for specific guidance. Part 3 is the data dictionary, a compilation of all of the standardized terms for preservation and digitization actions. Available at:
http://www.loc.gov/marc/bibliographic/pda.pdf
Preservation Metadata : Implementation Strategies (PREMIS)
Version/ID Code (if any): Version 2.2
Governing Standards Agency: Library of Congress/de facto
A core set of implementable preservation metadata, broadly applicable across a wide range of digital preservation contexts and supported by guidelines and recommendations for creation, management, and use. The PREMIS Data Dictionary defines “preservation metadata” as the information a repository uses to support the digital preservation process. Covers metadata supporting the functions of maintaining viability, renderability, understandability, authenticity, and identity in a preservation context. Available at:
http://www.loc.gov/standards/premis/
VideoMD
Version/ID Code (if any): Version 2.0 Schema
Governing Standards Agency: Library of Congress)/de facto
VideoMD contains technical metadata that describe a digital video archival object. Available at:
http://www.loc.gov/standards/amdvmd/audiovideoMDschemas.html
Embedding Metadata in Digital Audio Files
Version/ID Code (if any): Version 2
Governing Standards Agency: Federal Agencies Digitization Guidelines Initiative (FADGI)/de facto
Embedded metadata is a part of the content file and cannot become separated from it. It can provide a brief statement of information provided in fuller form through external metadata standards. The Broadcast WAVE file provides a place in the file header for extended information about file creation, content, etc. The Federal Agencies Audio-Visual Working Group draft guideline on Broadcast WAVE Metadata represents a minimal set of recommended embedded metadata for historical and cultural heritage digital audio reformatting. Available at:
http://www.digitizationguidelines.gov/guidelines/digitize-embedding.html
Graphic Technology and Photography – Viewing Conditions
Version/ID code: ISO 3664:2009
Governing standards agency/standards type: ISO/de jure
Specifies viewing conditions for images on both reflective and transmissive media, such as prints (both photographic and photomechanical) and transparencies, as well as images displayed in isolation on color monitors. Available at:
http://www.iso.org/iso/home/store/catalogue_ics/catalogue_detail_ics.htm?csnumber=43234
Guidelines for Preservation Photocopying of Replacement Pages
Version/ID Code (if any): 1990
Governing Standards Agency: ALCTS/PARS/de facto
Photocopied replacement pages are required when parts of original texts have been removed or lost. Photocopying also becomes necessary when an embrittled item can no longer be used without risking damage, and a paper copy replacement (rather than film) is desired and is not available from a commercial publisher. In each case, it is essential that photocopies be of the highest quality. This document provides necessary guidelines. Available at:
http://www.ala.org/alcts/resources/preserv/presvphotocop
Recommended Practice - Production, Inspection, and Quality Assurance of First-Generation, Silver Microforms of Documents
Version/ID Code (if any): ANSI/AIIM MS23-2004
Governing Standards Agency: ANSI/AIIM/de jure
This document identifies and discusses the qualitative characteristics of first-generation silver gelatin microforms and the methods to attain, maintain, and measure levels of quality. The scope of this document excludes COM, updateable, color, and thermally processed microforms. Available at:
http://www.digitizationguidelines.gov/term.php?term=microfilmstandards
