Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CaMMS Research & Publications Committee: Descriptive Cataloging

To promote awareness of the current status of research in cataloging and classification.

Descriptive Cataloging

ALA-LC Romanization Tables
Transliteration schemes for non-roman scripts. Developed and maintained by Library of Congress.

Available online ALA-LC Romanization Tables

Anglo-American Cataloguing Rules, 2d ed., 2002 revision, 2005 Update (AACR2)
International descriptive cataloging code, with rules governing: description; choice of entry; form of name, title, and series headings; and corresponding catalog references. Chapter 12 is used in conjunction with other chapters to catalog continuing resources (serials and integrating resources) in any format. Developed by Joint Steering Committee for Revision of AACR.

Available in loose-leaf: ALA Editions (978-0-8389-3555-2)

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop 

Available in RDA Toolkit

Archival Moving Image Materials: A Cataloging Manual (AMIM2) (2nd ed.)
Prepared by a committee of LC Motion Picture, Broadcasting, and Recorded Sound Staff. Provides cataloging rules (within the framework of AACR2, Chapter 7) for all types of moving image materials.

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop.

DCRM(B): Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Books) (2011)

Available online DCRM(B): Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Books) 

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop.

Examples to Accompany Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Books)

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop; subscription required for full access.

DCRM(C): Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Cartographic)

Available online DCRM(C): Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Cartographic)

Will be available online in Cataloger’s Desktop.

DCRM(G): Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Graphics) 

Available online DCRM(G): Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Graphics) 

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop.

DCRM(S): Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Serials) (2008) 

Available online DCRM(S): Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Serials) 

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop.

Descriptive Cataloging of Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance, and Early Modern Manuscripts(AMREMM) (2003) 

Available online Descriptive Cataloging of Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance, and Early Modern Manuscripts

Available online as free PDF via ALA/ACRL.

Descriptive Cataloging Manual (DCM) Z1: Name and Series Authority Records and LC Guidelines Supplement to MARC21 Format for Authority Data
Standards for name and series authority records followed by Library of Congress and Name Authority Cooperative Program participants. This parallels the MARC21 Format for Authority Data in structure and is meant to be used in conjunction with it. Developed and maintained by the Library of Congress Policy and Standards Division. The Policy and Standards Division has made available a comprehensive version of the Descriptive Cataloging Manual (DCM) Z1 (updated April 2016) and the LC Guidelines Supplement to the MARC 21 Format for Authority Data (updated April 2016)

Available online Descriptive Cataloging Manual (DCM) Z1: Name and Series Authority Records and LC Guidelines Supplement to MARC21 Format for Authority Data

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop.

Library of Congress-Program for Cooperative Cataloging Policy Statements (LC-PCC PSs)
RDA policy interpretations representing LC and PCC practice (except where noted as solely LC practice.

Freely available as part of the RDA Toolkit, click on Resources tab. 

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop

Available online Library of Congress-Program for Cooperative Cataloging Policy Statements (LC-PCC PSs)

Library of Congress Rule Interpretations (LCRI)
United States companion to Anglo-American Cataloguing Rules, 2d ed., parallel in structure to it, with amplifications, explications, and additions. This, de facto, defined a common national descriptive cataloging practice. Developed by Library of Congress, Cataloging Policy and Support Office; no longer updated.

Available for free download Library of Congress Rule Interpretations (LCRI)

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop

NACO Participants’ Manual, 3d ed.
Procedures and guidelines followed by participants in the Name Authority Cooperative Program. Developed for the NACO Program of the Program for Cooperative Cataloging (PCC). Currently being revised for RDA. The 3d ed. contains examples showing older policies and practices and should not be used for RDA NACO cataloging.

Available online NACO Participants’ Manual

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop.

RDA: Resource Description & Access
Designed for the digital world and an expanding universe of metadata users, RDA: Resource Description and Access is the current unified cataloging standard. Based on the conceptual models of FRBR (Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Data) and FRAD (Functional Requirements for Authority Data); contains links to PC-PCC Policy Statements and the full text of AACR2, among other cataloging resources.

Available through RDA Toolkit and in Cataloger’s Desktop

Available in print (2015 rev.) through ALA Editions

RDA and Cartographic Resources (2015)
Paige G. Andrew, Susan M. Moore, and Mary Larsgaard
Contains guidelines for practicing map catalogers and those new to cartographic resources, with focus on the differences between AACR2 and RDA practice.

Available in print: ALA Editions (978-0-8389-1131-0)

SACO Participants' Manual (2nd ed., 2007)
Procedures and guidelines followed by participants in the Subject Authority Cooperative Program. Developed for the SACO Program of the Program for Cooperative Cataloging (PCC).

Available online SACO Participants' Manual

Available in Cataloger’s Desktop.

Standard Citation Forms for Rare Materials Cataloging (3rd ed.)
List of standard forms for catalog citations of often-used bibliographies and catalogs; includes all formats found in special collections. Developed by the Bibliographic Standards Committee of the Rare Books and Manuscripts Section, Association of College and Research Libraries, ALA. Succeeds Standard Citation Forms for Published Bibliographies and Catalogs Used in Rare Book Cataloging, which was printed works–specific.

Available online Standard Citation Forms for Rare Materials Cataloging